There is yet another historical group involved with building on the Putnam House property. The North Reading Minit and Militia disassembled and reconstructed the West Village Schoolhouse, now nestled at the far northeast corner of the historical complex. Built circa 1845, this school originally served the residents of the western section of town.
Until the 1980's, the building was near the northwest corner of Park and Main Street (the present location of the Eastgate parking lot). It had been an automobile repair shop for many years and was slated to be demolished to make room for new construction. The Minit men dismantled the structure and stored parts of it in several places throughout the town. Over a period of several years, they gradually reconstructed the school in its present location. The local treasure has been returned to the 19th century, complete with chalkboards, teacher's desk, student desks, "pot-bellied stove", and a working bell in its steeple. The building has a volunteer teacher, in appropriate dress, who often hosts classes from the local elementary schools.
vlm 2001, updated November 2012